Black History Assembly

O. T. Bonner Middle School celebrated Black History Month by holding a special assembly on Friday, February 25, 2011 at 9:00 a.m. Eighth grader Takeira Barley was the MC for the event and began the program by welcoming everyone. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Bonner student, Sara Fitzgerald. Then, the O. T. Bonner Middle School Chorus sang “Lift Every Voice and Sing.”

Original poetry written by students in the classes of Mrs. Winant and Ms. Napier was recited next. Jingi Hairston read a poem by Adrieka Thomas titled “Freedom to the North.” Taquan Carter read a poem by Jaleel Murphy titled “Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.” Neriah Ray-Saunders recited her poem, “Running Woman.” Ma’Kaiwa Edwards read her poem, “Rosa Parks.” Tamia Martin read her poem, “Towards Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.” Mae Gayle Dalton read a poem by Kamaj’ei Hodnett titled “Ode to Michael Jackson.”

After the beautiful poetry readings, Tamario Rodgers, an eighth grader, gave a speech on The Civil Rights Movement in Danville, Virginia titled “The Courage to Dream.” Then, Deacon Warren Dallas of Galileo Magnet High School and East New Hope Baptist Church delivered Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech.

To end the program, the Bonner Chorus sang “We Shall Overcome” and “The Impossible Dream.” Eighth grade members of the Bonner Chorus were Arkesha Adams, Kaleb Atkins, Takeira Barley, Jingi Hariston, Kashayla Hairston, Tonkiya Miller, Jaquentia Mitchell, Anna Robertson, and Jordan Vaden. Sixth grade members were Cassidy Arender, Timmetria Barton, Rachael Calyer, Sabrina Chaney, Shagariell Conway, Mae Dalton, Tanyiah Daniel, Catherine Newell, Charlexia Witcher, Daniel Shogan, Heather Toone, and Brittany Turpin. Seventh grade members were Tynisha Averette, Shantia Beard, Maiyha Cardwell, Briana Collins, Jai’Meika Conway, Jermaine Davis, Dwayne Dickerson, Sara Fitzgerald, Alayah Fuller, Taylor Gregory, Genikwa Gunn, Tyra Hill, Rebecca Hunt, Kimberly Jones, Tamia Martin, Tracey McCall, Mykeyyah McCargo, Fentasia Osborne, Isabella Piccolo, Alexandra Preston, Nadia Ragin, Deshja Rodgers, Myshion Stephens, K. Orlando Waller, Destiny Wenstley, Kaitlyn Williams, and Brandon Womack.

Congratulations to all of the participants for a wonderful production! Also, congratulations to Mrs. Ferguson for putting together such a wonderful show!